The QQI board makes decisions about QQI policies and key functions such as:

  • Approval of all policy and approaches to policy
  • Strategic planning, corporate planning and approval of annual reports 
  • Approval of financial accounts 
  • Withdrawal of approval of quality assurance procedures 
  • Withdrawal of programme validation 
  • Delegation of authority to a provider to make awards 
  • Withdrawal or variation of delegated authority to make awards

The Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science appoints non-executive board members. These include at least two learner representatives and at least one person with international experience. The board is appointed for five years. 

The QQI board and QQI employees are required to abide by a Code of Conduct.

Board Members

Irene Sheridan, QQI Board

Professor Irene Sheridan


Padraig Walsh, QQI, CEO

Dr Padraig Walsh

Chief Executive, ex officio

Ms. Marianne Doyle

Ordinary member

Dr. Sean Duignan

Ordinary member with international experience related to QQI's functions

Dr. Sharon Feeney

Ordinary member

Blake Hodkinson, QQI Director of Further Education and Training

Mr Blake Hodkinson

Ordinary member

Mr. Kevin McStravock

Ordinary member

Ms. Anne Naughton

Ordinary member

Mr. Bryan O'Mahony

Ordinary member, representative of learners, nominated by the Union of Students in Ireland

Ms. Maria Ward

Ordinary member, representative of learners