QQI Awards standards

The awards standards we determine apply to our own QQI Awards and those made by providers to whom we have delegated authority.

As an awarding body, QQI makes awards to learners who have demonstrated through assessment that they have reached or exceeded the standard for an award. This makes standards an essential part of the awarding system.

The lifecycle of an award standard consists of four stages:

  1. Development
  2. Consultation
  3. Review
  4. Deactivation




The Common Awards System (CAS) is an evolving system of awards at NFQ Levels 1 to 6 that aims to support learner mobility and ease the recognition of prior learning.

Explore our listing of CAS Awards here