Sign In
Current Consultations

Review of English Language Teaching Standards

In recent months QQI has undertaken validation activity related to programmes leading to the new ‘CELT’ award. In that process issues were identified in relation to understanding and implementation of the ELT standards by providers.  QQI considers there are legitimate concerns and has taken the approach of reviewing the 2014 ELT standards. The changes (highlighted in yellow) are identified in the draft revised Awards Standards for Teaching English as a Second or Other Language at NFQ Levels 6-9.

The proposed revisions relate to:

QQI welcomes feedback on these proposed changes, please submit any comments to by 21 November. 

Review of QQI Award Standards (Levels 1 - 4)

QQI has established a Reference Group related to the review of the award standards at NFQ Levels 1-4. We are looking at Level 4 awards in parallel to Levels 1 - 3. 

In March 2018 QQI published a report summarising feedback on Levels 1 - 3, asking consultation questions and proposing further activity.  We are currently hosting two surveys, one relating to the Common Award Standards Level 1 - 3 and the second relating to the Broad Standards Level 1 - 3Your feedback would be very welcome and will help in the review process.

Please note the closing date for these surveys is 3 December 2018.
To this end QQI are hosting two workshops, one in Dublin and one in Tullamore, to explore the issues related to Levels 1 - 4. 
Please click on the links below to register for your chosen workshop.   

Awards Standards Levels 1 – 4 Events  

  • Tullamore Court Hotel, Tullamore Monday 26 November 13.30 – 16:30. 
    Click here to register.
  • Davenport Hotel, Dublin Tuesday 27 November 13.30 – 16:30.
    Click here to register.

Review of FET NFQ Levels 4-6  Early Years Childcare Award Standards

QQI has established a Standards Review Group to review the  ECCE awards ensuring that the award(s) standards (below) meet the current and expected future needs of learners and employers. 

Level 4 Early Childhood Education and Care Support 4M2014 and associated component awards

Level 5 Early Childhood Care and Education 5M2009 and associated component awards

Level 6 Early Childhood Care and Education 6M2007 and associated component awards

At its first meeting on 23rd of October, the group considered a range of issues and these are reflected in a Pre-review Consultation Document

We invite you read the document and respond to the questions raised in the survey by 03 December 2018.
QQI are hosting two events, please note booking at one event only is required as each event will be identical.

Workshop event Details:

Tullamore​26 November 2018​09.30 - 13.00​
Dublin​click here27 November 2018​09.30 - 13.00


Green Paper on Assessment

QQI’s Green Paper on Assessment sets out a framework and context for discussing assessment issues. It is aimed at a number of sectors, including the FET, HET and ELE sectors.

Using the Green Paper as a basis, we aim to create some focussed opportunities for discussion of the issues through workshops and focus groups before collecting written feedback on the issues from stakeholders. These will take place during autumn 2018.

We are seeking feedback from stakeholders on the issues and options contained in this Green Paper. If you are responding with feedback to this Green Paper, please ensure that you do so by 7 December 2018 to, indicating:

  1. Your contact details

  2. Whether you are responding as an individual or on behalf of an organisation

Please note that QQI will be publishing the findings (these may include extracts from and distillations of any submissions) from the consultation process. Please indicate if you are happy that your submission is published in full, attributing it to you.

Proposal for new standards and reviews

Award standards currently being developed by QQI are available here.