About QQI

On 6 November 2012, Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI) was established as a new integrated agency (replacing the Further Education and Training Awards Council, the Higher Education and Training Awards Council and the National Qualifications Authority of Ireland and incorporating the functions of the Irish Universities Quality Board).   

QQI is responsible for the external quality assurance of further and higher education and training (including English language provision) and validates programmes and makes awards for certain providers in these sectors.

QQI is also responsible for the maintenance, development and review of the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ).
Since its establishment, QQI has been progressing the development of its qualifications and quality assurance services.  In May 2013, QQI rolled out a Comprehensive Policy Development Programme through a number of large public events and an extensive consultation process.

QQI is now very pleased to announce the publication of its first set of policy documents.  They are:
These policies are relevant to new providers seeking access to initial validation of programmes leading to QQI awards and to certain other providers with whom QQI has an existing relationship; details on the application of these policies to current providers will be published shortly.
Further developments with the Comprehensive Policy Development Programme will feature on our website.


Customer Charter
QQI is committed to providing a quality service and equality of treatment to all our customers. This charter sets out our standards of service our customers are entitled to expect.

See our Customer Charter here

See our Complaints of Service here


Transitional Award Logos

QQI will continue to make awards based on standards developed by FETAC and HETAC while it develops its own award standards and processes.  Providers of programmes leading to FETAC and HETAC awards, now made by QQI, should use transitional logos for awards developed for use during this transitional period.  Guidelines for the appropriate usage of transitional logos and various versions of the logos are available to download from the Resources section of the website.